Bruised Not Broken: Another chemo side effect

This last week I had a pimple on the back of my ear or something like that. I picked it – no big deal. Two minutes later (how often do you look at the back of your ear?) Davis said ” look at your ear!” And I said, “I don’t look at my ear.” And he said “You better it’s bleeding crazy.” And I said “No way, I just had a little – AHHHHHHHH” (This last part as I realized I was dripping blood onto to my shorts.

Thirty minutes later it had stopped. I thought nothing of it because it was was merely a blip in the cacophony of strangeness of the last few months. But I sat with a survivor friend and she said how afraid she had been to get a pedicure during chemo. “Why?” I said “Well, because you bleed so much.”she said.

No one has mentioned this to me. Not once during all the conversations about chemo side effects or treatment or anything. But it makes sense – if my addled swiss cheese brain could remember the science classes. Warning, science content: Platelets (which I am seriously low on because of my chemo) cause your blood to clot. They stick to each other and make a barrier – inside or out. So a nick on the surface becomes a giant bleeding wound, and one under the surface becomes a beautiful water color in purple, green and yellow.

Yesterday, I had a fit of activity hanging art work in the kids newly colored rooms – and yes, Emmy’s room is VERY pink. And, our room is very blue – Honest Blue (which my friend pointed out is better than Lying Blue but I’m a little worried it’s too close to Carolina Blue.)

Anyway, I knocked my toe on some of the painter’s gear. It was the same toe I broke last summer. Yes, I broke my toe by knocking it on a door. Apparently it’s really hard to break your toe like I did – the doctor took a picture because it was sticking out 90 degrees. But I digress. I knocked the same toe and it hurt. A lot.

But, the bruising is intensely awful. My toe looks like I used it as a punching bag. A very small punching bag (it is my pinkie) but still.

Now I do the internet search and find out bleeding and bruising are very common. Because of the platelets. So I’m supposed to do things differently. Breastcancer.org  makes the following suggestions: avoid sharp tools and objects until your platelet count comes back up. Use a very soft toothbrush, avoid forcefully blowing your nose, use an electric shaver instead of a razor, and avoid contact sports or other activities that may cause injury.

Good thing I didn’t have the energy to play soccer with the kids – I could have been a walking purple martian. And, I may have to relearn how to blow my nose! Thankfully I haven’t had an excuse for shaving often. But last week I was running around with scissors.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment